Palindromic Running

Yesterday’s post brought the last communication from the London Marathon organisers before I pick up my race number in just under 4 weeks. It included what the number will be – something that pleased the part of me that rather likes a bit of symmetry – 23832.

20140316-114831.jpg
So this morning’s run attempted to reflect it with two sets of largely hilly intervals of 200m, 300m, 800m … I am sure you can work the rest out. They took me up to the hills around Horniman Gardens which is one of my favourite parks with some lovely views over London.

20140316-114758.jpg
Then back home through Brockley and Ladywell Cemetry.

20140316-114841.jpg
Earlier in the week, I had approached the week’s long run with a degree of trepidation after last week’s illness as I still feeling tired and a bit ‘bunged up’ – I needn’t have worried too much though, I managed a fraction under 20 miles at 8:10 pace, which included the long slog up Anerley Hill from Elmers End. I was tired come the end, but part of that was to do with a chunk of the run being part of ‘club run’ and trying to keep up with 7:35 pace for nearly 3 miles. Needless to say, there were some issues with lactic acid for a couple of days.

3 thoughts on “Palindromic Running

  1. NOMADICLES

    I am impressed that you can maintain 8:10 pace for 20 miles. My LA Marathon training made me realize that I can only maintain a pace that I like up to about 15-17 miles. It made me seriously think about managing efforts and energy. Going in the race, I knew I hadn’t figured it out yet. Best wishes on your race.

    Reply
  2. WalkToRio

    That was a beautiful day in London.
    I like symmetry too, I’m a bit OCD about it. I had a race in Rio 2 weeks ago, the number was 8818, that 1 there keeps driving me crazy, but I still don’t know if it’s the first 8 or the 1.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

