Low Tide on the Thames

My expectations for my long run on Wednesday had been limited, the forecast the previous evening had been for torrential rain all day, but as I set out early there was only a hint of drizzle in the breeze.

By the time I had reached the Thames, the weather seemed a little more optimistic, a half hearted attempt at a rainbow appeared over the gritting depot by the Thames Barrier but it failed to crest the Dome, re-emerging as a little more than a smudged spectrum in Newham. It didn’t last long though as the sun submerged into the gloom of the early morning.

image

It was low tide with large expanses of mud, pebbles and lot of debris washed up by the river from tyres to footballs and, of course, the regulation shopping trolley or two. It was the old jetties that interested me – they always do – as I headed upstream towards Greenwich.

I stopped at Anchor and Hope Wharf, there is a wrecked boat there at the foot of the jetty which is only visible at around low water and plenty of other decaying debris from other broken up boats.

image

The top of the old Blackwall Peninsula, now known as North Greenwich, sees lots of sand deposited as the Thames meanders through the eastern side of the city. At low tide it is a haven for gulls and wildfowl, with large numbers of cormorants there as I passed.

image

I stopped again at Enderby’s Wharf, formerly home to the cable industry but the river side deserted although it will soon be the outlook for expensive new homes.

image

Finally, before I turned for home I passed the remains of Tudor Greenwich, the jetty for the former Royal Palace visible in the mud.

image

As for the run, it was about 10 and a half miles, my longest since my accident, which was good and the rain held off until I reached home.

One thought on “Low Tide on the Thames

Leave a Reply

