Leybridge Court – ‘Tudor House’ to Social Housing

Leybridge Court is an attractive social housing estate centring around three 11-storey blocks a few metres away from the boundary of Lewisham with Greenwich.  The site has an interesting history that this post will explore.

The land was once part of the estate of Eltham Palace which we have covered in relation to the farms that cultivated the area – Horn Park and Lee Green Farms, the former lasted up until the 1930s.  The farmhouse of the latter, unsurprisingly, was at Lee Green in the south eastern quadrant where the Leegate Centre is currently situated and is pictured below.

The farmhouse moved to the current site of Leybridge Court in the 1840s, with the then farmer William Morris(s) purchasing land from the Crown presumably on a 99-year lease.  He built a very large new home called Tudor House and seems to have also built some speculative housing on the same site – either side of the current Cambridge Drive (1).

Little changed until the mid-1860s – the Ordnance Survey map of 1867, shows the houses that Morris built but nothing else around the Lee Green toll house.  The feel though would have still been rural.  The change in the next four or five years was dramatic with new housing laid out along Eltham Road, almost up to what is now Sutcliffe Park.  As the local MP remarked in 1871, ‘in a short period a town has sprung up in the neighbourhood.’ (2)

As we saw in a post on St Peter’s, the church that in various forms has served the area, around 160 large houses were built along Eltham Road, Cambridge Road (now Drive), on what is now Courtlands Avenue along with Weigall, Osberton and Leyland Roads. The houses were small compared with Tudor House, while no photographs seem to survive of Tudor House, a picture of the neighbouring Rothsay, a few doors closer to Leyland Road, does.

Source e Bay February 2021

By 1871 Tudor House and those to the east had been built for well over 20 years, to the east they had been joined by others following the demise of Lee Green Farm in the 1860s. All were covered in the census and all were single family dwellings generally with several servants – Tudor House was home to shipowner Joseph Pegg, some adult children and a modest two servants. One of the houses was used as the vicarage for St Peter’s, the Vicar was Leonard McDonald James, the others included in ship broker, a silk broker, a ship builder.

By 1911 not that much had changed, the houses were still inhabited by wealthy single households with servants – the Tudor House was home to a Swiss engineer with a couple of servants. Fairfield, next door was home three generations of Watkins who had three live-in servants including a Between Maid. It was the family’s 4th census there – the wealth having come from ship ownership.  Others in the group of houses included company director and a doctor.

Much had changed by the time World War Two broke out, while most of the houses still seemed to be occupied in the 1939 Register, virtually all were subdivided into flats (often with some parts of the house empty). The inhabitants were a mixture of manual, clerical and shops workers and the retired, often there were lodgers too. The exception was Tudor House where there were three people rattling around in it – a retired couple, an engineer and millinery buyer, along with a lodger.

The Bomb Sight website, notes that Tudor House was hit during the Blitz, although there is no obvious record of it in the local APR Log. By the time the area was visited by surveyors putting together the LCC Bomb Damage maps the site had been cleared and no significant bomb damage was noted (3). Similarly, when Ordnance Survey visited in 1948, cartographers though noted a gap with some earthworks where the Tudor House once stood. was though.

The reality is that this was a crater that provided a playground for those growing up in neighbouring streets, such as Osberton Road during and after the war. The site wasn’t just a playground during the war, it was part of the dig for victory allotments as the 1948 map above shows.

The old Metropolitan Borough of Lewisham approved the construction of the estate in 1958 and the contract was awarded to Costain, with work completed in 1960, this will have included demolishing the remaining houses on the site.  Costain was a firm with roots in Merseyside who had expanded into the south east in the 1930s.  At the time they  built Leybridge Court, public sector housing was only a small part of their work but they were to become a significant player in the 1960s.  Costain continue today as a civil engineering contractor. 

The estate centres around a trio of 11 storey blocks, each with 44 flats.  At the rear of the estate are much smaller, low rise, maisonette blocks.

The blocks were seemingly quite popular, based on one Facebook thread at least.  Unlike most tower blocks they weren’t given names, just referred to by the numbers within them.  However, they did tend to be known by a distinguishing feature – the colour of the doors and railings on the balconies – green (nearest to Lee Green), blue (close to Cambridge Drive) and red at the back of the estate. 

In 2000 the then Labour Government set the Decent Homes Standard which sought to ensure that public sector homes were in a reasonable state of repair, had effective heating systems and ‘reasonably modern’ facilities and services – in the main this related to kitchens and bathrooms.  There wasn’t sufficient money for local authorities to do this work all themselves. So, in some locations, councils looked to transfer stock to other organisations who weren’t subject to the same borrowing restrictions as they were.  In Lewisham, this led to large areas of stock being transferred to housing associations – Phoenix was set up to improve and manage the homes in Downham and Bellingham.  With Leybridge Court and the Newstead Estate (often referred to as the Redbrick Estate), Lewisham with input from residents, undertook a competitive process and in the end selected Broomleigh (now known as Clarion) to refurbish and manage the estates.

Work was underway to the outside of the estate when the Google Streetview car passed by in 2012, the internal works were probably completed earlier.  The exteriors look much more modern and have changed from brick to what looks like a white render – they have become a landmark, clear from many of the higher points of south east London.  One thing remains though the colour of the  entrances is still red, green and blue – something, no doubt, that residents will have insisted upon. 

The improvements on the estate were at least partially paid for by the use of land on the corner of Cambridge Drive for new homes for sale on a shared ownership basis.

Today, the estate, from the outside at least, seems well maintained and cared for – how social housing should be. 

If you live(d) or work(ed) at Leybridge Court estate, tell us your memories of your time there.  Post them below (you can use your Facebook or Twitter login – or via Facebook (if you found the post via here) – if it is you first comment ‘here’, you will have to wait for it to be ‘moderated’.  I will update the post with comments.  Try not to post anything libellous about others though.

Notes

  1. Neil Rhind (1987) Blackheath and Its Environs Volume 2, p34
  2. Kentish Mercury 15 July 1871
  3. Laurence Ward (2015) The London County Council Bomb Damage Maps 1939-1945 p116

Credits

  • The Ordnance Survey map is via the National Library of Scotland on a non-commercial licence
  • The picture of the original Lee Green Farm is from information board at Lee Green
  • The black and white photograph of the estate being built is from the collection of Lewisham Archives, it is used with their permission and remains their copyright

17 thoughts on “Leybridge Court – ‘Tudor House’ to Social Housing

  1. Nim DiRicci

    I live here (my property is in one of the pictures!) and have been relatively happy in my 13 years here. The only downside is the wasted land behind the maisonette blocks where the top floor residents don’t use / want / maintain their gardens and these have fallen into disrepair. Also note that it is not all social housing – in my block, around 50% is now in private ownership.

    Reply
    1. Paul B Post author

      Thanks for the comment – much appreciated. I looked at the Land Registry data via Nimbus maps (you have to sign up but there is a free view option) and I think that suggested a dozen or so flats in the towers had been sold through Right to Buy, although the picture was patchy. It seemed to be a higher rate in the maisonette blocks though – those gardens for the upper maisonettes often don’t work very well and it is hard to force reluctant gardeners to do work.

      https://app.nimbusmaps.co.uk/Lookup

      Reply
  2. Terry whelan

    Hi we lived in the ground floor flat in the blick nearest eltham rd ,our underfloor heating concked out in 1960 and they dug up the front room! We were moved to the maisonettes number 160 leybridge court until 1965 when we were offered a house in Lenham rd the other side of lee green lights .my mum and dad and the rest of us lived in Lee green til my mum died in 2010 .

    Reply
  3. Michael Brooks

    Hi, we moved to 118 Leybridge Court, first occupants in 1959, it was the Red block closest to Eltham, my Mum lived there until 2000, my Dad having passed in 1989. Mum moved just across the road to to Woodville Close which was previously 4 very large houses, she sadly passed June 2020 aged 95. I had my own bedroom at last at the age of 11 and attended Northbrook school which was 5 minutes away ON FOOT. It was a great place to grow up and the estate had its own children’s play area . The Estate had 2 resident caretakers who were allowed to tell us off and did!.10 minutes on bikes and we could be in Greenwich Park, a great Place to sledge from the observatory to the museum, also track race on Henry V111s golf course, all good fun and home before dark, OR TROUBLE. Lee Green and the Estate have changed over the years but i think it looks like is has moved with times. I married and moved away in 1973, in retirement now on the South Coast. Yes, i do remember you Terry Whelan, hope you are well, Regards Michael

    Reply
  4. Susan McCarthy

    Although I’ve never lived in Leybridge Court, I thought you may be interested to know about a few things I remember from 1950, before any of the surrounding properties were demolished in order for it to be built.

    What prompted me to add this comment is because amongst all the interesting information in your recent post, I was fascinated by the Ordnance Survey map and especially where Osberton Road is shown. It indicates that on either side there were four pairs of identical semi-detached tunnel-back houses. There may well have been four pairs but they were not
    identical.

    I went to school at 9 Osberton, which was on the north side, and was one in a row of three storey Victorian houses. My school friend, Suzanne, lived opposite with her parents in a home owned by her maternal grandparents, Mr and Mrs McNeill. I knew both houses well, having attended for four years the school, lived in and run by Miss Laura Lindfield. On many occasions I visited Suzanne’s home to play and sometimes stayed overnight. The entire house seemed to me to be totally different in style. It had two floors, was lit by electricity and not gas (as at number 9), the rooms were of larger proportions, and as I remember, the house looked wider than those opposite.

    Laura Lindfield, always said that her side of the road was due to be demolished but not the opposite side. As a child I found this news rather sad, and justified it to myself as being because Suzanne’s home looked so different. I now realise it was probably only the north side which had the ninety-nine year lease you mentioned, Paul. Would you have any idea as to how this came about? Why such a difference in style? I don’t recall seeing any others like them in the immediate vicinity. It is a long time ago, but I think that the McNeill’s home was more Edwardian in character rather than Victorian.

    It was because I knew of the proposed demolition that I returned with my husband to photograph the home where Laura Lindfield once lived. My husband recalls taking the two photos I have. I didn’t meet him until 1967, but we both think the date was more likely to have been in the early 1970s. Unfortunately, I didn’t write the date on the back, but strangely, I didn’t take a photo of the houses opposite. I now wonder if they had been demolished before number 9!

    I also remember, in the 1950s, walking up Cambridge Drive from Eltham Road. I always stopped to admire the first house on the right, which appears on the Ordnance Survey map. I admired it because it was a large house, set quite a long way back from the road, and surrounded by a beautiful garden. A man was often to be seen tending the grounds. Someone once told me it was the home of a doctor.

    I’m not sure if it’s possible to attach my two photos of Osberton Road to this reply but I will try.

    Reply
    1. Paul B Post author

      Thank you so much for posting your memories Susan. At some point I will do some posts on the streets around there. I suspect that I will need to go through the Crown Estate archives which are held at Kew, so it will have to wait until I retire. I found out about the leases in relation to Courtlands Avenue and oddly on Osberton, what I am not sure about is whether they all expired at the same time, why some houses were left standing, whether they were all built by Wates. There seemed to be lots of small private schools in the big houses in the area, one day I’ll do something on them. Would love to see the photos – you can only post links here I am afraid, so I’ll e mail you. Thanks again for visiting and posting your comments, it is really appreciated.

      Reply
    2. johnteresa

      Hello Susan
      The house on the corner was the surgery of Dr Ryves who was my family’s doctor. He must have been in his 70s or 80s when I was a youngster . We lived at 46 Eltham Road next door to the remains of Tudor House. I don’t remember a school in Osberton Road, was it a private school?
      I went to Lee Manor School and there was a little girl who lived in Osberton Road who was in my class. Such happy days.
      Best wishes
      John Hill

      Reply
      1. Susan McCarthy

        Hello John
        I’ve just seen your reply to my comment about Osberton Road. Many apologies for my late reply. Thank you for giving me the name of Dr Ryves. I was never sure if what I had been told about the owner of that beautiful garden in Cambridge Drive was true. You have confirmed that he was indeed a doctor.

        You asked if my school was a private school, it was but with only about twelve pupils. There was no way of knowing it was a school as there wasn’t a name on a board in the front garden. We always knew of it as being Miss Lindfield’s.
        With my thanks
        Susan

      2. Gabriel Mills

        Delighted to find a mention of Dr Ryves, a kindly man who was my family’s doctor from the time we lived at 103 Lee Road from 1943 until (after several moves) I left London aged 19.

        Dr Ryves told me I had the worst hayfever (allergic rhinitis) and resulting severe asthma of all his patients save his own son: which might have been why he was so sympathetic. Each summer he would try out the latest antihistamine on both of us. But he reckoned it wasn’t worth my trying allergy tests as his son had had them: as a lot of bother yielding no useful information.

        But unfortunately all my medical records prior to age 19 (when I moved to Edinburgh Universory Student Health Service) were lost.

        Even after all this time, the photo of the big house where Dr Ryves’ surgery was seems familiar from so many childhood visits… I remember the surgery at the back overlooking the garden. I believe its address was something like 4 Eltham Road? Very close to its junction with Lee Road and Burnt Ash Road, and Lee High Road.

  5. johnteresa

    Hello Paul B
    My name is John Hill and my wife Teresa picked up your article on Facebook. I read your history of Leybridge court with interest. Both my parents came from Lee and the generation before them. My father’s parents lived in the basement of 46 Eltham Road right next door to the remains of Tudor House and they were there from 1915 until all these houses up to Leyland Road were demolished. I cannot see the number on the door of the photo of Rothesay but if it’s 46 then it’s the same house. My parents also lived in this house on the ground floor from 1942 to 1956 when they then moved to Lampmead Road. I was born in 1947 and I used to play on Tudor House bomb site although my mother told me it was never bombed it was just demolished.
    I actually have an old tattered photo of Tudor House which I can e-mail you if you wish.
    My mother’s parents were the Roe family that lived in Lee Green since around 1900 and they lived at 55 Brightfield Road. They had a greengrocers shop at the top end of Brightfield Road.
    There were a total of four other Roe family members living in Brightfield Road along with the Upton family. There was also Bater’s the butchers, and Clifton’s grocery store in the corner of Brightfield and Hegley St. Clifton’s were the same family that had a large garage on the A20 roundabout which was called Clifton’s Roundabout. Penfold Motors were also run by another family that came from Lee.
    I hope this information might be of interest to various members of your special interest group.

    Regards

    John & Teresa Hill

    Reply
    1. Paul B Post author

      Hi John and Teresa
      Thanks so much for getting in touch!

      I think that Rothesay was 40 from memory, it midway between Leyland Road and Tudor House. The other house I have a photo for is Cleveland House which was 54. I’d love to see and if possible add to the post.

      As you may have seen I just published the first part of a post on Brightfield Road, hopefully I will finish the second part off this week. I deliberately left the shops out because I think they warrant something on their own – I was surprised that so many of them survived for so long away from a main road with the one that the Roes ran and the one almost opposite. There are a few things I need to check upon though and I think this will have to wait until a bit of normality is returned to and the Archives are open again.

      I’ve done several posts on Penfolds, they are interesting in terms of the family history, the employment and the extent to which they have shaped the urban landscape. Didn’t know about Cliftons links to Brightfield Road though – thank you for helping to join the dots!

      I will e mail you as you can’t photos here.

      Thanks again for your comments – it’s really appreciated.

      Paul

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Probably the First Shopping Parade in Lee – Part 2, the 20th Century & Beyond | Running Past

  7. Pingback: ‘Reed’s Corner’ – The Eltham Road Shops Before the Leegate – Part 3 – From 1905 | Running Past

  8. Dawn wells

    My parents Margaret and Desmond greenacre lived in leybridge court I’m looking for some old photos maybe 1960s as my dad has dementia now and would love to show him some old phots I was born there many thanks

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Lee Sorting Office | Running Past

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.